Inaugural

I’ve been wanting to start this blog for a long time.

As the Consumer Representative on the Emergency Medical Care Commission, I want to share with the rest of the community what I learn from serving on this advisory board to the County Supervisors. In upcoming posts, I will write about the projects of the EMCC, the work being done in various areas of emergency medicine, including transport, clinics, and field exercises. I will include information about pending legislation that could affect emergency medical care and the Commission’s position on that legislation, if it has one. I’ll write about programs and initiatives within other agencies within the County, like the Aptos/La Selva Fire District’s “No More Falls” program and events like EMS Week in Santa Cruz, where we recognize the first responders and the lives they have saved.

Please note that I am not a medical professional and can offer no medical advice. Nor can I be an advocate for any individual. As the Consumer Representative on the Commission, it is my job to look at procedures and services with an eye to determining how well they serve our community and to speak up when I think it’s necessary. If you have questions about emergency medical services in Santa Cruz County, please feel free to contact me. I may not be able to answer your question, but I may be able to point you towards someone who can.

Leave a Reply

